Saturday, 24 March 2018

Machinations by Hayley Stone

This week’s recommended book is Machinations by Hayley Stone.

Machinations

Perfect for fans of Robopocalypse, this action-packed science-fiction debut introduces a chilling future and an unforgettable heroine with a powerful role to play in the battle for humanity’s survival.

The machines have risen, but not out of malice. They were simply following a command: to stop the endless wars that have plagued the world throughout history. Their solution was perfectly logical. To end the fighting, they decided to end the human race.


A potent symbol of the resistance, Rhona Long has served on the front lines of the conflict since the first Machinations began—until she is killed during a rescue mission gone wrong. Now Rhona awakens to find herself transported to a new body, complete with her DNA, her personality, even her memories. She is a clone . . . of herself.

Trapped in the shadow of the life she once knew, the reincarnated Rhona must find her place among old friends and newfound enemies—and quickly. For the machines are inching closer to exterminating humans for good. And only Rhona, whoever she is now, can save them.

My review:

What an unusual book! I loved it. Alongside the Matrix/Terminator type fight against the machines we live inside the head of a woman trying to work out who she is/was. She wakes up as a clone of her previous self, but with some memories missing. Her lover has been deeply grieving for six months and can't cope with her return, and the leaders of the resistance don't trust her. A real page turner. Highly recommended.

Machinations is followed by Counterpart, an equally good book.

Ann Marie Thomas head shot (80x90) (300dpi) Web GravatarAnn Marie Thomas is the author of four medieval history books, a surprisingly cheerful poetry collection about her 2010 stroke, and the science fiction series Flight of the Kestrel. Book one, Intruders, is out now. Follow her at http://eepurl.com/bbOsyz

No comments:

Post a Comment